We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Nathan's victory in Four Lanes is a victory for local people

September 2, 2016 5:35 PM

Last night (Thursday 1st September), the Liberal Democrats made another gain on Cornwall Council, with Nathan Billings taking the Four Lanes seat from UKIP. This follows a string of by-election gains by the Lib Dems in Cornwall since the start of the year, with previous victories in Launceston Central, Wadebridge West, Newquay Treviglas, St Teath & St Breward, and Newlyn & Goonhavern.

Nathan Billings out campaigning with his team in Illogan Highway

Nathan Billings out campaigning with his team in Illgan Highway

Nathan Billings said: "I'm deeply humbled by the result, and want to thank the many residents in the Four Lanes division who put their trust in me as their Cornwall Councillor. I will work over the coming months to show what a difference to the local area a Lib Dem councillor can make, and look forward to engaging with the various residents' and community groups in the area to find out more about their concerns and issues."

Lisa Dolley, Cornwall Councillor for Redruth North and Chair of Camborne, Redruth & Hayle Lib Dems, said: "This victory is testament to the Lib Dems' growing strength in the Camborne and Redruth area; having won only one of the 17 seats in 2013, we now hold four. I look forward to working with Nathan to deliver for local people, and to getting our new members and activists engaged in the campaign for next year's elections - if anyone is thinking about joining us, now is the time!"

The full result in the Four Lanes Division was:

Nathan Billings (Lib Dem) 300

Bernard Webb (Independent) 144

Conservative 128

Labour 125

Mebyon Kernow 111


Recent by-elections in the South-West have also seen the Lib Dems gain seats in Totnes ward of South Hams DC on July 27th (gain from Labour), Trowbridge Grove ward of Wiltshire UA on July 14th (gain from Independent), Sherborne Rural ward of Dorset CC on June 2nd (gain from Conservative), and in Tormohun ward of Torbay UA on May 6th (gain from Conservative).

The current composition of Cornwall Council is 44 Liberal Democrats (+8 since the all up elections in May 2013), 34 Independents (-1), 30 Conservatives (-1), 8 Labour, 4 Mebyon Kernow, 2 non-aligned & 1 UKIP (-5).